Top Ten Réunion Attractions

Top Ten Réunion Attractions


       La Réunion is a French island with a population of about 800,000 located in the Indian Ocean, east of Madagascar, about 200 km (120 mi) south west of Mauritius, the nearest island. Administratively, Réunion is one of the overseas départements of France. Like the other overseas departments, Réunion is also one of the 27 regions of France(being an overseas region) and an integral part of the Republic with the same status as those situated on the European mainland. Réunion is an outermost region of the European Union and, as an overseas department of France, is part of the Eurozone.

  1.  Saint-Denis
           Saint-Denis is the préfecture (administrative capital) of the French overseas region and department of Réunion, in the Indian Ocean. It is located at the island’s northernmost point, close to the mouth of the Rivière Saint-Denis. Saint-Denis is the most populous commune in the French overseas departments. At the 1999 census, there were 158,139 inhabitants in the urban area of Saint-Denis, 131,557 of whom lived in the city (commune) of Saint-Denis proper and the remainder in the neighbouring commune of Sainte-Marie.
  2. Saint-Leu
           Saint-Leu is a commune in the French overseas department of Réunion. It is located on the west side of the island of Réunion. It is a famuos surf spot. Various surfing competitions have been held in Saint-Leu, including World Qualifying Series (WQS) and ASP World Tour (WCT) competitions. It is well known for its famous left wave. There is a paragliding base at Colimaçons. Paragliding World Cup races have been held in Saint-Leu in 2003 and 2006, and Pre World Cup Tour race in 2010
    Links: Top Ten Surf Spots,_R%C3%A9union,
  3. Piton de la Fournaise

           Piton de la Fournaise, “Peak of the Furnace,” is a shield volcano on the eastern side of Réunion island. It is currently one of the most active volcanoes in the world, along with Kīlauea in the Hawaiian Islands (Pacific Ocean), Stromboli, Etna (Italy) and Mount Erebus in Antarctica. A previous eruption began in August 2006 and ended in January 2007. The volcano erupted again in February 2007, and on 21 September 2008. Most recently, an eruption occurred on 9 December 2010 and lasted for two days. Piton de la Fournaise is often known locally as le Volcan (The Volcano) and is a major tourist attraction on Réunion island.
    Links: Top Ten Volcanoes,
  4. Saint-Pierre
           Saint-Pierre is the third-largest commune in the French overseas department of Réunion. It is located on the southwest side of the island of Réunion.
  5. Salazie
    File:Réunion TrouDeFer Fall.JPGFile:Domaine-de-Mare-à-Citrons.jpgFile:Église-Salazie.JPG
            Salazie is a volcanic caldera and commune (administrative division) in the department and region of Réunion. The first settlement of the area took place in 1829 after a cyclone had devastated the nearby coast, and the municipality of Salazie was formed in 1889. The name of the commune is potentially derived from the Malagasy word salazy, meaning ‘good encampment.’
  6. L’Étang-Salé
    File:Brisants Etang-sale.jpgÉtang-salé-les-bains-plage03.jpg
    L’Étang-Salé (French for The Salty Pond) is a commune in the department and region of Réunion. It is bordered by the communes of Les Avirons and Saint-Louis. Within the commune is the Etang-Salé forest. There is also a beach with black sand in the commune that is a popular surfing spot.
    Links: Top Ten Surf Spots,
  7. Links: Top Ten Réunion Hotels, Top Ten Réunion RestaurantsTop Ten French Attractions,,