Top Ten Tanzanian Attractions

Top Ten Tanzanian Attractions

      The United Republic of Tanzania is a country in East Africa bordered by Kenya,Uganda,Rwanda,Burundi, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique. The country’s eastern borders lie on the Indian Ocean. The country is composed of 26 regions (mikoa), including those of the autonomous region of Zanzibar. The head of state is President Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete, elected in 2005. Since 1996, the official capital of Tanzania has been Dodoma, where Parliament and some government offices are located. Between independence and 1996, the main coastal city ofDar es Salaam served as the country’s political capital. Today, Dar es Salaam remains the principal commercial city of Tanzania and the de facto seat of most government institutions. It is the major seaport for the country and its landlocked neighbors. The name Tanzania derives from the names of the two states Tanganyika and Zanzibar that united in 1964 to form the United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar, which later the same year was renamed the United Republic of Tanzania.

  1. Serengeti National Park

           The Serengeti National Park is a large national park in Serengeti area, Tanzania. It is most famous for its annual migration of over one and a half million white bearded (or brindled) wildebeest and 250,000 zebra. Serengeti National Park is widely regarded as the best wildlife reserve in Africa due to its density of predators and prey.
    Links: National Parks, Top Ten African National Parks,,
  2. Kilimanjaro National Park

    Kilimanjaro National Park is a national park, located 200 miles south of the equator near Moshi, Tanzania. It is centered on Mount Kilimanjaro, and covers an area of 753 km² (291 square miles). In the 1910’s, Mount Kilimanjaro and its forests were declared a game reserve by the German colonial government, but by 1921 it was made a forest reserve. In 1973, the mountain above the tree line (about 2,700 m / 9,000 ft) was reclassified as a National Park and was opened to public access in 1977.
    Links: National Parks, Top Ten African National Parks, Top Ten Mountains, Top Ten African Mountains,,
  3. Ngorongoro Conservation Area

    The Ngorongoro Conservation Area is a conservation area situated 180 km (112 miles) west of Arusha in the Crater Highlands area of Tanzania. The conservation area is administered by the Ngorongoro Conservation Area Authority, an arm of the Tanzanian government, and its boundaries follow the boundary of the Ngorongoro Division of Ngorongoro District. The Ngorongoro Crater, a large volcanic caldera, lies within the area.
    Links: Top Ten Big Cats,,
  4. Selous Game Reserve

           The Selous Game Reserve is one of the largest faunal reserves of the world, located in the south of Tanzania. It was named after Englishman Sir Frederick Selous, a famous big game hunter and early conservationist, who died at Beho Beho in this territory in 1917 while fighting against the Germans during WWI. The reserve covers a total area of 54,600 km² (21,081 square miles), and has additional buffer zones. Within the reserve no permanent human habitation or permanent structures are permitted. All entry and exit is carefully controlled by the Wildlife Division of the Tanzanian Ministry of Natural Resources and Tourism. Some of the typical animals of the savanna, including elephants, hippopotami, African Wild Dog, cape buffalo and crocodiles, can be found in this park in larger numbers than in any other African game reserve or national park. The area was first designated a protected area in 1896 by the German Governor Hermann von Wissmann and became a hunting reserve in 1905. Most of the reserve remains set aside for game hunting through a number of privately leased hunting concessions, but a section of the northern park along the Rufiji River has been designated a photographic zone and is a popular tourist destination. There are several high end lodges and camps mainly situated along the river and lake systems in this area. Rather difficult road access means most visitors arrive by small aircraft from Dar es Salaam, though train access is also possible. Interesting places in the park include the Rufiji River, which flows into the Indian Ocean opposite Mafia Island and the Stiegler Gorge, a canyon of 100 meters depth and 100 meters width. Habitats include grassland, typical Acacia savanna, wetlands and extensive Miombo woodlands. Although total wildlife populations are high, the reserve is large and densities of animals are lower than in the more regularly visited northern tourist circuit of Tanzania. Walking safaris are permitted in the Selous, and boat trips on the Rufiji are a popular activity
    Links: Top Ten Big Cats,,
  5. Kondoa Rock Art

           The Kondoa rock art sites are a series of caves carved into the side of a hill looking out over the steppe, 9 km off the main highway from Kondoa to Arusha, about 20 km north of Kondoa. The caves contain paintings, some of which are believed by the Tanzania Antiquities Department to date back more than 1,500 years. The paintings depict elongated people, animals and hunting scenes. Tourists are asked to report to the Antiquities Department office on the highway at the village of Kolo and ask for the cave paintings guide.
    Links: Top Ten Cave Paintings, Relieves and Petroglyphs,,
  6. Mji Mkongwe

           Stone Town also known as Mji Mkongwe (swahili for “old town”) is the old part of Zanzibar City, the main city of Zanzibar, in Tanzania, as opposed to Ng’ambo (Swahili for ‘the other side’). It is located on the western coast of Unguja, the main island of the Zanzibar Archipelago. Former capital of the Zanzibar Sultanate, and flourishing centre of the spice trade as well as the slave trade in the 19th century, it retained its importance as the main city of Zanzibar during colonial rule. When Tanganyika and Zanzibar joined each other to form the United Republic of Tanzania, Zanzibar kept a semi-autonomous status, with Stone Town as its local government seat. Stone Town is a city of prominent historical and artistic importance in East Africa. Its architecture, mostly dating back to the 19th century, reflects the diverse influences underlying the Swahili culture, with a unique mixture of Moorish, Arab, Persian, Indian and European elements. Due to its heritage, Stone Town is also a major visitor attraction in Tanzania and a large part of its economy depends on tourism-related activities.
    Links: Sculptures, Top 100 African Sculptures, Top Ten Slaves, Top Ten Boats,,
  7. Kilwa Kisiwani

           Kilwa Kisiwani is a community on an island off the coast of East Africa, in present day Tanzania.
    Links: Top Ten Islands,
  8. Dar es Salaam

           Dar es Salaam, “harbor of peace,” formerly Mzizima, is the largest city in Tanzania. It is also the country’s richest city and a regionally important economic center. Dar es Salaam is actually an administrative province within Tanzania, and consists of three local government areas or administrative districts: Kinondoni to the north, Ilala in the centre of the region, and Temeke to the south. The Dar es Salaam Region had a population of 2,497,940 (2002). Though Dar es Salaam lost its official status as capital city to Dodoma in 1974 (a move which was not complete until 1996), it remains the center of the permanent central government bureaucracy and continues to serve as the capital for the surrounding Dar es Salaam Region.
  9. Dodoma

           Dodoma, literally “It has sunk” in Gogo, has a population of 324,347 (2002) and is the national capital of Tanzania. In 1973, plans were made to move the capital to Dodoma. Tanzania’s National Assembly moved there in February 1996, but many government offices remain in the previous national capital, Dar es Salaam, which remains the commercial capital.
  10. Links:,