Top Ten Ugandan Attractions

Top Ten Ugandan Attractions

       Uganda is a landlocked country in East Africa, known as the “Pearl of Africa.” It is bordered by Kenya, South Sudan, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Rwanda and Tanzania. The southern part of the country includes a substantial portion of Lake Victoria, which is also bordered by Kenya and Tanzania. Uganda takes its name from the Buganda kingdom, which encompassed a portion of the south of the country including the capital Kampala. The people of Uganda were hunter-gatherers until 1,700 to 2,300 years ago, when Bantu-speaking populations migrated to the southern parts of the country. Uganda gained independence from Britain on October 9, 1962. The official languages are English and Swahili, although multiple other languages are spoken in the country.

  1. Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

           Bwindi Impenetrable National Park is located in southwestern Uganda in East Africa. The park is part of the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest, and is situated along the Democratic Republic of Congo border next to the Virunga National Park and on the edge of the western Great Rift Valley. It comprises 331 square km (128 square mi) of jungle forests and contains both montane and lowland forest and is accessible only on foot. The forest is one of the richest ecosystems in Africa and has a vast diversity of species. The park provides habitat for some 120 species of mammals, 348 species of birds, 220 species of butterflies, 27 species of frogs, chameleons, geckos and many endangered species. Floristically Bwindi is among the most diverse forests in East Africa, with more than 1,000 flowering plant species including 163 species of trees and 104 species of ferns. The northern (low altitude) sector is rich in species of the Guineo-Congolian flora. These include two species internationally recognized as endangered, Brown mahogany (Lovoa swynnertonii) and Brazzeia longipedicellata. In particular the area shares in the high levels of endemisms of the Albertine Rift. The park is a sanctuary for colobus monkeys, chimpanzees and many birds (such as hornbills and turacos). It is perhaps most notable for the 340 Bwindi gorillas, half the world’s population. There are four habituated Mountain Gorilla groups open to tourism: Mubare; Habinyanja; Rushegura near Buhoma; and the Nkuringo group at Nkuringo.
    Links: National Parks, Top Ten African National Parks, Top 100 Birds, Top Ten Butterflies,,
  2. Rwenzori Mountains National Park

           Rwenzori Mountains National Park is a Ugandan national park located in the Rwenzori Mountains. Almost 1,000 km2 (386 sq mi) in size, the park has Africa’s 3rd highest mountain peak and many waterfalls, lakes and glaciers. The park is known for its beautiful plant life.
    Links: National Parks, Top Ten African National Parks,  Top Ten Mountains, Top Ten African Mountains, Top 100 Flowers,,
  3. Kampala

           Kampala is the largest city and capital of Uganda. The city is divided into five boroughs that oversee local planning: Kampala Central, Kawempe Division, Makindye Division, Nakawa Division and Lubaga Division. The city is coterminous with Kampala District.
  4. Ukerewe (Lake Victoria)

           Lake Victoria or Victoria Nyanza, also known as Ukerewe, The Eye of the Rhino, Nalubaale, Sango or Lolwe, is one of the African Great Lakes. The lake was named for Queen Victoria of the UK, by John Hanning Speke, the first European to visit this lake. With a surface area of 68,800 square km (26,600 square mi), Lake Victoria is Africa’s largest lake by area, is the largest tropical lake in the world, as well as being the world’s 2nd largest freshwater lake by surface area (only Lake Superior in North America is larger). In terms of its volume, Lake Victoria is the world’s 8th largest continental lake and contains about 2,750 cubic kilometers (2.2 billion acre-feet) of water. Lake Victoria receives most of its water from direct precipitation or from thousands of small streams. The largest stream flowing into this lake is the Kagera River, the mouth of which lies on the lake’s western shore. There are two rivers that leave the lake, the White Nile (known as the “Victoria Nile” as it leaves the lake), flows out at Jinja, Uganda on the lake’s north shore and the Katonga River flows out at Lukaya on the western shore connecting the lake to Lake George. Lake Victoria occupies a shallow depression in Africa and has a maximum depth of 84 meters (276 ft) and an average depth of 40 meters (130 ft). Its catchment area covers 184,000 square km (71,040 square mi). The lake has a shoreline of 4,828 km (3,000 mi), with islands constituting 3.7% of this length, and is divided among three countries: Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania. Lake Victoria supports Africa’s largest inland fishery.
    Links: Top Ten Lakes, Top Ten African Lakes, Top Ten Kenyan Attractions, Top Ten Tanzanian Attractions,,
  5. Kasubi Tombs

           The Kasubi Tombs in Kampala, Uganda, is the site of the burial grounds for four kabakas (kings of Buganda). On March 16, 2010, some of the major buildings there were almost completely destroyed by a fire, the cause of which is under investigation. The outraged Buganda Kingdom has vowed to rebuild the tombs of their kings and President Museveni said the national government of Uganda would assist in the restoration of the site.
    Links: Top Ten Tombs, Top Ten Kings,,
  6. Links:,